Lessons on Building a Music Collection – Vinyl and CDs

For about 10 years or so, I spent barely anything at all on purchasing music. My family has always had a good sound system at home. But almost all my music purchases happened before the internet came to India. Following the advent of the internet, I maybe bought a grand total of 3 albums in the next 10 years. The rampant music piracy and sharing of files on P2P websites and servers made it that much easier to not spend on music that I could get for free. It was only when I came to the US, got a job and started working, that I found myself being drawn to the idea of actually ‘owning’ the physical form of music. It was also around the same time that I was particularly influenced by Steven Wilson’s constant glorification of the vinyl record. I began to dream of having my own record collection and record player. I romanticized the idea of holding an old LP in my hand and watching it spin as the music started playing. Its appeal kept growing every single time I thought about it. So I invested in a good sound system and a record player. And then I started buying used and new vinyl.

Today, after about 3 1/2 years, I can proudly state that I have with me about 300 vinyl records of bands from diverse genres and generations. In addition to this, I also own close to 200 CDs, a third of which were just simply given to me by my close friend when he moved. Yes, I am proud of the current state of my collection and all the new music that I have discovered along the way. But this post is not about me bragging about what I have or don’t have. Instead it is about the things that I learnt during that journey.

The first record I bought was AC/DC’s Back in Black brand new. Fabulous album and I was already familiar with many of the songs on it. I had been listening to it for about a week when I went to a used record store. And then I bought about 4 records there – easy considering that used records are just so inexpensive! I was super excited about it and began to play those. Back in Black went to the shelf and I only played it again last week after a gap of 3 1/2 years. A week or two later, I was at another record store and bought some more. The previous batch of records then went to the shelf. This process repeated itself over and over.

By the time I realized what was happening, I already had close to 200 records in my shelf including complete box sets of classical music – Bach, Chopin, Rachmaninoff, you name it. But I had only explored the full depths of the music on less than a quarter of those. I have listened to every single record I own at least once. But the joys of exploring the depths of a song were lost on me as far as most of my collection went. Following this realization, I stopped buying new music for a few months and instead focused on exploring whatever I already had. That proved to be a masterstroke and over the course of the following few months, the music on many of the albums truly revealed its inner depths to me. And listening to it in the high quality audio that only the vinyl can provide, I was duly rewarded for the investment. In hindsight, it was a lesson that I had to learn the hard way, and I am glad that I am now that much wiser.

Another lesson I learnt in a similar fashion was on WHAT records to buy when in a record store. Typically, whenever I enter a record store, I have absolutely no idea of what I want, let alone what I am going to walk out with. I take immense satisfaction in spending hours together digging through hundreds of records – many times arranged in no particular manner – and discovering a gem hidden among them. That moment of inspiration is priceless and I have gone through that process dozens of times. (I even built my complete Fleetwood Mac album set that way).

But one unwanted consequence of the same process is the discovery of used records by artists that you feel you ‘might like’ or are from artists you ‘have heard of’ or ‘want to explore’. In itself, this is a fairly innocuous occurrence. You usually find yourself with about 5-6 of these ‘type’ of records after all the digging through. These albums are usually very cheap – costing anywhere between $2 to $10 each. However, typically what happens – and I say this from experience – is that in addition to these, you also come across that one awesome album from a new pressing that can cost anywhere between $20 to $35. So what you are going to see is that you are getting 5-6 records for $30 instead of one record for $30. And so you purchase the used records for $30 while leaving out the one that you really wanted for the same amount. Essentially, you just spent the same amount of money on 5- 6 records – by bands that you may or may not be familiar with, and the music that you do not know if you will or will not like – as you would have on that one album that you really really wanted and already knew that you liked that music.

Long story short, it is not about the quantity. It really is about the quality. I will freely admit that there are dozens of records at my place that I will probably never listen to again. And if I chosen differently when it came to all those records, I would have easily bought a whole bunch of albums that I know for a fact I would have devoured completely. So yes, it is not about the numbers. It is about what speaks to you truly.

Yet another under rated aspect of collecting music is keeping it organized. When your collection passes a certain point (and you will never see this coming), stuff simply becomes hard to find. The text on the thickness of the sleeve can only be visible from so far out. Separating it into genres and by artist names alphabetically will go a long way in 1) reminding you of what you already have, 2) what to buy and to not buy in the future, and 3) finding the right music for the right occasion. I personally still need to find a wooden shelf of the right size to organize my entire collection.

So there you are. A few starter tips to be aware of while building your music collection. What I have said above very well applies to CDs. Of course, the Mp3 person does not have much to read into here.

And if you are really curious to see how my music collection looks, here you go:

My Books, CDs and Vinyl

My Books, CDs and Vinyl

More Vinyl

More Vinyl

 

About Akshay N R

Civil Engineer by Profession; Dudeist by Religion. Also allergic to mediocrity.

Posted on January 14, 2015, in Music, Serious Writing, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great post! As an avid vinyl fan, I also find the hunt of the right vinyl important. I don’t know what I’m going to get when I go shopping. Digging, you find that inspired moment and purchase.

    I would suggest storing all of your vinyl on its sides, not stacked. You’ll want to make sure its in a tight bundle to so the vinyl doesn’t warp over time. An affordable option is these Foremost units that you can slowly purchase and build a wall unit of. Some have doors, etc… Good luck and I’ll keep an eye on your upcoming blogs!

    http://www.amazon.com/Foremost-327606-Modular-Storage-System/dp/B000O1FROO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421291973&sr=8-1&keywords=vinyl+storage

  2. Reblogged this on the written photograph and commented:
    Helpful tips on building a record collection!

  3. Insightful. I’m planning to start building a vinyl collection myself. Do you have any tips on what sort of hardware to buy – what kind of vinyl player and speakers to invest on?

    • I started off with a basic JBL 5.1 home theater speakers, but for playing vinyl if you just have a good 2 speaker system with a separate sub woofer that should be more than sufficient. I upgraded my front two main speakers to Bowers and Wilkins a couple of years ago and it is an investment worth making. A receiver/amplifier is a must. And when you are buying your Vinyl player, make sure it has a built in pre-amp. You can still purchase it separately, but it is just another hassle you can avoid. You essentially connect your vinyl player to the receive/amplifier as input. Then your speakers and sub are connected to the same receiver/amplifier as the output. You don’t need anything else. Most vinyl players have the ability to switch speeds and record sizes so you shouldn’t have to worry about that anymore. I currently have a Sony PSLX300USB player. But I will be upgrading to the Audio Technica players sometime soon.

      Let me know when you decide to go ahead with your plans!

  4. Enjoyed reading this.
    The only thing I’d say is one of the reasons I bought a record player was to discover new music, to see a cover and give it a whirl.
    Will look forward to reading again.

Leave a Reply

