TIME

“Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
You fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way
Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
Waiting for someone or something to show you the way

Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain
You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun

Waters under the moon

And you run and you run to catch up with the sun, but it’s sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

Pulse

Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time
Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way
The time has gone, the song is over, thought I’d something more to say”

Waters in Bangalore

I dont know why I have typed the above lyrics. Maybe its because it has had a profound effect on me ever since I first came across it and it will remain the best lyrics ever written.

Concert

And for those of you who do not know what the above lyrics stands for, I strongly suggest that you either commit suicide or spend the rest of your life exploring Pink Floyd and subsequently realize how you have led an ordinary life till the time you listened to Pink Floyd.

And I am blessed to have attended the Roger Waters concert that took place in Bangalore! The happiest day of my life! Singing “Another Brick in the Wall” with 20000 other floyd maniacs and with the man himself-Roger Waters! That is something! And I have watched the P.U.L.S.E concert video so many damn times that I know exactly which light in the concert behaves how!

And if you belong to that really hopeless group of people who cannot appreciate Pink Floyd, then trust me when I say that you guys are the biggest losers on this planet. You might as well commit suicide.

And oh ya! I am high!

About Akshay N R

Civil Engineer by Profession; Dudeist by Religion. Also allergic to mediocrity.

Posted on September 21, 2007, in Alcohol, Arbit, Pink Floyd. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Time definitely is one of their great numbers but I Pigs ( from the Album Animals ) is one of their really good numbers, however I have heard to a lot of music but I still feel Floyd’s the best coz they are different. However there are songs which they themselves couldnt play again….thats the beauty of it….( if u like follow what im trying to say)…But every album of their’s is a master piece in itself …….I like this song called “lost for words” from the album division Bell even that makes a lot of sense…. I know pink floyd is one band which i will never get bored talking of…. There was a time when floyd did not even think that they are going to be a hit they started playing for some movies…. for example la valee- movie ( Obscured by clouds- Album)some time i would definitely want to know the logic behind this song called ” a bunch of small furry animals in a cave and grooving ” its like completely psychadelic…….and who can forget the saucerful of secrets and Echoes……Its not even worth saying they dint mean something what they sang only point is a bit of thinking is all its required…and talking about a heavy voice I think Dogs of war is one song which is heavy tooooo what a meaning it carries…..I fell in love with the song first time i heard it……..” There is a new perspective to floyd songs every time you hear them” its like saying sucess is going from failure to failure with a lot of entusiasm (Winston Churchill)

  2. i got to see Roger Waters in 1999 and it has remained my favorite concert ever. Ive spent many lucid nights with my friends driving backroads and listing to those exact lyrics

Leave a Reply

